2017 – 2018 Standing Committees

For complete committee members list: Click here

Awards

This committee solicits, reviews, and decides on OACP award recipients for both the annual conference and special occasions.

Rick Stokoe – Boardman PD – Co-Chair
rstokoe@cityofboardman.com

Stan Grubbs – Portland PB – Co-Chair
stangrubbs@gmail.com

Budget and Finance

This committee develops and recommends a budget to the General Membership for approval during the OACP Board of Directors meeting scheduled in June of each year. This committee also assists with investigating alternative means of generating revenue

Kris Allison– Central Point PD – Co-Chair
kris.allison@centralpointoregon.gov

Wyn Lohner – Baker City PD – Co-Chair
wlohner@bakercity.com

Conference, Education and Training

This committee is responsible for coordinating all education and training opportunities at the conferences, develops the conference format, identifies/recruits viable conference venues, and coordinates conference responsibilities.

Kris Allison – Central Point PD – Co-Chair
kris.allison@centralpointoregon.gov

Jeff Fossholm – Silverton PD – Co-Chair
jfossholm@silverton.or.us

Ray Rau – Nyssa PD – Co-Chair
rrau@nyssacity.org

Conference Subcommittee

Jeff Fossholmn – Silverton PD – Co-chair
jfossholm@silverton.or.us

Linda Gardner – McMinnville PD
Linda.Gardner@ci.mcminnville.or.us

Dress Uniform and Ceremony

This committee reviews and makes recommendations for standardization of dress uniforms and ceremonial duties for chiefs of police and command staff of municipal agencies.

Robert Mason – Independence PD – Chair
mason.robert@ci.independence.or.us

 Executive Resources

This committee is responsible for developing programs and offering resources through the OACP that assist law enforcement leaders and local government partners. This committee continues to update and manage the Agency Review program and Linebacker program and is tasked with developing other programs to assist agencies.

Jeff Groth – Sherwood – Co-Chair
grothj@sherwoodoregon.gov

Stuart Roberts – Pendleton PD– Co-Chair
stuart.roberts@ci.pendleton.or.us

Intergovernmental and Legislative

With the assistance of the OACP executive staff, this committee develops an OACP legislative agenda for each legislative session. The time commitment can be extensive and may involve meetings (in Salem during session), requests for review of legislation and opportunities to testify before legislative committees.

Geoff Spalding –Retired – Co-Chair
gspalding@beavertonoregon.gov

John Teague – Keizer PD– Co-Chair
teaguej@keizer.org

Labor Issues

This committee tracks labor issues and develops resources to assist agencies as they navigate the process of collective bargaining. The committee also collects and makes available collective bargaining agreements and arbitration decisions, posting them in the members-only section of the OACP Website.

Geoff Spalding – Beaverton PD– Co-Chair
gspalding@beavertonoregon.gov

Akin Blitz — Bullard Law – Co-Chair
ablitz@bullardlaw.com

Public Relations

This committee develops a strategy for communicating with the public and other LE stakeholders and coordinates with other committees and the Board to create and develop awareness of OACP products and services to the membership, other LE stakeholders, and to the public.

Membership

This committee is responsible for recruiting new members and for receiving, reviewing and forwarding applications for membership to the Board. This committee will also review memberships that may come into question by other members of the Association due to actions that would bring discredit to the Association.

Matt Workman – Warrenton PD – Co-Chair
mworkman@ci.warrenton.or.us

Mike McGlothlin – Columbia City PD – Co-Chair
mmcglothlin@columbia-city.org

Oregon Accreditation Alliance

This committee serves as the Oregon Accreditation Alliance board overseeing work of the OAA, adopting accreditation standards, establishing the accreditation process, and seeking to increase the number of accredited Oregon agencies.

Laurie Taylor – APCO – Co-Chair
ltaylor@wccca.com

Jeff Fossholm – Silverton PD – Co-Chair
jfossholom@silverton.or.us

Scholarship – Community Action

This committee oversees the distribution of scholarships for current and prospective college students who are pursuing a career in the criminal justice field, scholarships to the OACP Annual Conference for chiefs of police and for retired members with financial need, and a scholarship for an OACP member to attend the IACP Conference.

Kevin Martinez – Carlton PD– Co-Chair
kmartinez@ci.carlton.or.us

Matt Workman – Warrenton PD – Co-Chair
mworkman@ci.warrenton.or.us

Second in Command

The purpose of this committee is to evaluate opportunities within the OACP to expand participation and contributions by those aspiring to become a chief of police and/or who are in a position to serve as a second-in-command or acting chief. The committee will further the mentoring and development of future chiefs of police through program development, training and other areas that will help build a generation of well qualified, highly ethical police chiefs.

Mark Daniel – Sherwood PD – Co-Chair
DanielM@SherwoodOregon.gov

Kirk Sanfilippo – Sutherlin PD – Co-Chair
k.sanfilippo@ci.sutherlin.or.us

Retired Members

This committee is responsible for representing the needs of retired members as they relate to membership in the OACP and for encouraging participation in the Association by retired members. This committee also gathers historical information about the association and presents information to the current association members.

Les Youngbar – Lake Oswego PD (Retired) – Chair
lgyoungbar@gmail.com

Policies

The purpose of this committee is to assist in the sharing of polices with Oregon Law Enforcement agencies. The committee will collect individual policies and policy manuals for other agencies to access in the members-only section of the OACP website.

Rich Sebens – Stayton PD – Co-Chair
rsebens@ci.stayton.or.us

Bret Smith – Canby PD – Co-Chair
smithb@canbypolice.com