2018 – 2019 Standing Committees

For complete committee members list: Click here

Awards

This committee solicits, reviews, and decides on OACP award recipients for both the annual conference and special occasions.

Rick Stokoe – Boardman PD – Co-Chair
rstokoe@cityofboardman.com

Robin Sells – Gresham PD – Co-Chair
robin.sells@greshamoregon.gov

Conference, Education and Training

This committee is responsible for coordinating all education and training opportunities at the conferences, develops the conference format, identifies/recruits viable conference venues, and coordinates conference responsibilities.

Kris Allison – Central Point PD – Co-Chair
kris.allison@centralpointoregon.gov

Jeff Fossholm – Silverton PD – Co-Chair
jfossholm@silverton.or.us

Executive Resources

This committee is responsible for developing programs and offering resources through the OACP that assist law enforcement leaders and local government partners. This committee continues to update and manage the Agency Review program and Linebacker program and is tasked with developing other programs to assist agencies.

Jim Band – Oregon City – Co-Chair
jband@orcity.org

Randy Sparacino – Medford PD– Co-Chair
randy.sparacino@cityofmedford.org

Intergovernmental and Legislative

With the assistance of the OACP executive staff, this committee develops an OACP legislative agenda for each legislative session. The time commitment can be extensive and may involve meetings (in Salem during session), requests for review of legislation and opportunities to testify before legislative committees.

Jim Ferraris –Woodburn PD – Co-Chair
jim.ferraris@ci.woodburn.or.us

John Teague – Keizer PD– Co-Chair
teaguej@keizer.org

LEELI

The LEELI Committee acts as an operations and advisory board for the Law Enforcement Executive Leadership Institute, a week-long seminar produced by OACP for new and upcoming chiefs of police.

Geoff Spalding – Astoria PD – Co-Chair
gspalding@astoria.or.us

Dave Henslee – Klamath Falls PD – Co-Chair
dhenslee@klamathfalls.city

Membership

This committee is responsible for recruiting new members and for receiving, reviewing and forwarding applications for membership to the Board. This committee will also review memberships that may come into question by other members of the Association due to actions that would bring discredit to the Association.

Matt Workman – Warrenton PD – Co-Chair
mworkman@ci.warrenton.or.us

Mike McGlothlin – Columbia City PD – Co-Chair
mmcglothlin@columbia-city.org

Oregon Accreditation Alliance

This committee serves as the Oregon Accreditation Alliance board overseeing work of the OAA, adopting accreditation standards, establishing the accreditation process, and seeking to increase the number of accredited Oregon agencies.

Laurie Taylor – APCO – Co-Chair
ltaylor@wccca.com

Jeff Fossholm – Silverton PD – Co-Chair
jfossholom@silverton.or.us

Policies

The purpose of this committee is to assist in the sharing of polices with Oregon Law Enforcement agencies. The committee will collect individual policies and policy manuals for other agencies to access in the members-only section of the OACP website.

Rich Sebens – Stayton PD – Co-Chair
rsebens@ci.stayton.or.us

Bret Smith – Canby PD – Co-Chair
smithb@canbypolice.com

Retired Members

This committee is responsible for representing the needs of retired members as they relate to membership in the OACP and for encouraging participation in the Association by retired members. This committee also gathers historical information about the association and presents information to the current association members.

Les Youngbar – Lake Oswego PD (Retired) – Co-Chair
lgyoungbar@gmail.com

Vern Wells – Independence (Retired) – Co-Chair
vwells838@gmail.com

Scholarship – Community Action

This committee oversees the distribution of scholarships for current and prospective college students who are pursuing a career in the criminal justice field, scholarships to the OACP Annual Conference for chiefs of police and for retired members with financial need, and a scholarship for an OACP member to attend the IACP Conference.

Kevin Martinez – Carlton PD– Co-Chair
kmartinez@ci.carlton.or.us

Matt Workman – Warrenton PD – Co-Chair
mworkman@ci.warrenton.or.us

Second in Command

The purpose of this committee is to evaluate opportunities within the OACP to expand participation and contributions by those aspiring to become a chief of police and/or who are in a position to serve as a second-in-command or acting chief. The committee will further the mentoring and development of future chiefs of police through program development, training and other areas that will help build a generation of well qualified, highly ethical police chiefs.

Mark Daniel – Mt Angel PD – Co-Chair
mdaniel@ci.mt-angel.or.us

Geoff Spalding – Astoria PD – Co-Chair
gspalding@astoria.or.us

Small Agency

The purpose of this committee is to provide a forum to discuss matters that specifically affect small agencies and to represent those matters to the Association. Small agencies are generally described as agencies of 15 sworn officers or less and serving a population of 5,000 or less. This definition is intended to be inclusive, and not exclusive, of any agency small enough to have unique challenges because of their size and/or geographic location. Committee members may also organize training specific to small agencies. Committee meetings primarily take place during the ELTS and Annual Conference, but additional meetings may be scheduled. Committee work is also conducted by phone and internet, including by email and the OACP Committee Management System.

Mitch Hicks – CR Inter-tribal – Co-Chair
hicm@critfc.org

Denney Kelley – Black Butte PD – Co-Chair
chiefkelley@blackbuttepolice.org

Special Committees

Dress Uniform and Ceremony

This committee reviews and makes recommendations for standardization of dress uniforms and ceremonial duties for chiefs of police and command staff of municipal agencies.
Click here to view Rank Insignia and Braid Recommendations

Robert Mason – Independence PD – Chair
mason.robert@ci.independence.or.us

Updated on 5/3/2018